International Association of Statisticians of Indian Origin

Brief History

During the past several years, suggestions had been made from time to time by various individuals concerning the need of an Association of Statisticians from the Indian sub- continent. In view of that, during a conference in Montreal in May 1991, Professor Dwivedi called a meeting of Indian Statisticians who were present there. It was unanimously and enthusiastically agreed that steps should be taken to create an organization which would look after the interests of Statisticians of Indian Origin all over the world. A steering committee consisting of seven people was formed with Dr. Dwivedi as chairman. This committee contacted many people in North America and elsewhere.

A second meeting of Indian Statisticians was held in Atlanta in August 1991. This meeting was attended by more than fifty people. A good deal of constructive discussion took place. It was suggested that the steering committee be expanded to about 25 people. The current name of the association was agreed upon. Next, a couple of meetings of Indian Statisticians took place in Cairo, Egypt, in September 1991(along with ISI meetings) to further discuss this matter. In these meetings, a good deal of discussion took place. Some of the people who took specially active part include: Asit Basu, Nikhilesh Bhattacharya, J.V. Despande, J.K. Ghosh, Subir Ghosh, Gopal Kanji, Sati Mazundar, Anis Mitra, Vijay Nair, Prem Narain, J.S. Rao, P.S.S. Rao, J.S. Rustagi, P.K. Sen, J. Sethuraman, J. Singh, Murari Singh, B.K. Sinha, and J.N. Srivastava. In this meeting the Atlanta resolution was further upheld. It was decided to develop a constitution in consultation with the Indian statistical community, and develop bylaws. This was accomplished during 1992, 93. A nominating committee consisting of Dr. S.R. Dalal, J.N.K Rao, and M.S. Srivastava was appointed and suggestions were invited for office bearers. As a result of this, the following people were elected: President: J.N. Srivastava, Colorado State University, USA

Vice President: K.V. Mardia, University of Leeds, England

Secretary: T.D. Dwivedi, Concordia University, Canada

Treasurer: Y.S. Chaubey, Concordia University, Montreal